Till startsida
Till innehåll Läs mer om hur kakor används på gu.se

Fieldwork: methods and theory

University of Gothenburg 13-14 December 2018

The research area Linguistic Structures at the Department of Languages and Literatures invites contributions for the 2-day workshop Fieldwork: methods and theory. This workshop aims to bring researchers together who are interested in the method and theory of gathering linguistic data in the field. The workshop will include thematic discussion groups with a focus on data collection and management. The data collected can concern any area of linguistic inquiry such as phonetics, phonology, morphology, morphosyntax, semantics and pragmatics. We welcome contributions on all aspects of methods and theory in linguistic fieldwork, including, but not limited to:

  • elicitation techniques, in particular innovative techniques for semantic and pragmatic fieldwork
  • analyzing natural language data and corpora
  • issues in archiving and accessibility of data
  • investigating linguistic diversity and variation

The workshop combines oral presentations and thematic discussion sessions open to all participants to encourage active participation and an exchange of ideas.

No conference fee.

Invited speakers (confirmed)

Lisa Matthewson, University of British Columbia
Alena Witzlack, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Contact person: Eva-Marie Bloom Ström
Conference email: fmt1@easychair.org

Important dates

Abstract submission deadline: 31 August 2018 extended deadline 7 September 2018
Decisions sent: 15 October 2018
Workshop dates: 13-14 December 2018

Abstract submission guidelines:

Submitted, anonymous, abstracts of max 500 words (one page) including examples and references will be considered by external and internal reviewers.

Submit your abstract here: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=fmt1

Local organizing and scientific committee

Department of Languages and Literatures:
Eva-Marie Bloom Ström
Anna-Lena Fredriksson
Laura Downing
Malin Petzell
Evie Coussé
Morgan Nilsson

Maia Andréasson (Department of Swedish)
Elizabeth Bogal-Allbritten (Department of Philosophy, Linguistics and Theory of Science)
Jenny Nilsson (Institute for Language and Folklore)

Contact information

Conference email: fmt1@easychair.org

Sidansvarig: Fredrik Fällman|Sidan uppdaterades: 2018-11-14

På Göteborgs universitet använder vi kakor (cookies) för att webbplatsen ska fungera på ett bra sätt för dig. Genom att surfa vidare godkänner du att vi använder kakor.  Vad är kakor?

Denna text är utskriven från följande webbsida:
Utskriftsdatum: 2020-08-12